ALUCA announces winners of Excellence Awards

ALUCA unveils annual excellence award winners; Carly Van Den Akker (Swiss Re) and John O’Leary (TAL) receive prestigious Life Membership honors.

MLC Life Insurance dominates at ALUCA Excellence Awards, securing victories in three categories: claims teams, professional, and rising star.

ALUCA Chair Joanne Faglioni expressed delight in honoring the exceptional talent within the life insurance industry, recognizing their remarkable contributions to customers, financial advisers, and clients.

The inspiring leadership and innovative initiatives showcased in this year’s entries fill me with pride for being a part of this industry.

Ms. Amanda McKernan, ALUCA CEO, recognizes the exceptional leadership of Ms. Van Den Akker, who holds the position of Head of Life and Health Claims ANZ at Swiss Re.

Ms. Van Den Akker’s remarkable achievements include serving as former ALUCA Rehab Chair, six years of board membership, and her current role as TPD Claims/Rehab Group Lead, showcasing her exemplary leadership skills.

Mr. O’Leary from TAL, who recently joined the insurer in July 2021 as Underwriting Quality Assurance & Training Consultant, has been honored for his exceptional contributions.

His remarkable service as former board Chair, CEO, and dedicated work in various ALUCA portfolios, particularly in the field of education for over a decade, has been recognized.

Ms. McKernan expressed admiration for the remarkable contributions of both individuals to ALUCA and the industry as a whole, emphasizing that they should take great pride in their achievements.

MLC Life Insurance Chief Claims Officer, Andrew Beevors, commended his teams for their remarkable accomplishments.

He stated, “Our teams are dedicated to providing the finest claims experience and offering empathy throughout the process. We understand that making a claim is a crucial moment when our commitment to our customers truly matters, especially during challenging times.”

“In addition to acknowledging the accomplishments of our staff, these awards also highlight one of the innovations we have implemented to enhance the claims experience for our customers and partners,” he added.

He described the Retail Claims Fast Track as a “successful” innovation, aimed at streamlining the process and minimizing the requirement for extensive documentation in straightforward claims, ultimately reducing processing times.

Here are the winners of the awards:

Leadership Award: Mitali Waghmare, AIA Australia
Professional Award: Alex Kelly, MLC Life Insurance
Rehabilitation Award: June Khaw, Hannover Re
Rising Star Award: Kieran Seenan, MLC Life Insurance
David Mico Education Award: Rebekah Raftopoulos, Workcom
Underwriting Team of The Year Award: TAL Underwriting Risk & Strategy Team
Claims Team of The Year Award: Retail Claims Fast Track, MLC Life Insurance
Customer Service Team Award: QInsure Claims Team Australian Retirement Trust
Innovation Team Award: TAL Retirement Group Longevity Insurance Team
Volunteer Hero Award: Shane Burdack, Swiss Re


Source :

By Ryan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *